Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

View Poll Results: How much work do you do yourself?
I do everything to my car including internal engine work 21 24.42%
I do 95% of the work on my car, except internal engine work 30 34.88%
I do majority of work on my car, but I do give the complicated ones to the mechanic 24 27.91%
I only do light maintenance items on my car. I take it to the mechanic for repairs 10 11.63%
Work on car? what is that? I only drive her 1 1.16%
Voters: 86. You may not vote on this poll

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2016, 11:39 AM   #1

Anyone here work on their own cars?

I consider myself a hobbyist mechanic. I do most work on my cars except internal engine work.

I have mainly had Hondas, BMWs, motorcycles and jetskis. This is my first time having a Porsche. I plan on doing most of my work myself. I do not have a garage.

How many of you work on your own Porsche for most repairs?

Last edited by professorman; 04-19-2016 at 11:52 AM.
professorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2016, 11:44 AM   #2

Garage
I do. Not so much for the pleasure of a job well done, but I can't afford shop prices.

I don't do internal engine work and I avoid suspension work like the plague. That is money well spent for a job I don't want anything to do with.
CoBeerToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2016, 11:48 AM   #3
still plays with cars...

Garage
I've done plugs, fuel filter, water pump, tstat and coolant, full front brake job, brake fluid flush, trans fluid change, cleaned the throttle body & MAF, and done several oil changes.
Things are a bit goofy to get at, seeing many of the serviceale items are reached from under the car or through one of the access hatches, but once you wrap your head around that, it's no different than working on almost anything else.