Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2014, 01:48 PM   #1

Yet another IMS question

I know I'm a noob around here, but yes, I did try and search for this answer. I've been a member of too many car forums!

So, the 2004 Boxster S I just purchased has 47k miles on the car. At 20k in 2007, the IMS failed on the original engine. Porsche warrantied it out and replaced the engine.

How worried do I really need to be about having another IMS failure? Did they do any new engineering to the bearings that might have gone into the new engine in 2007?

Thanks for the info!

Jason

TxAgs986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 02:20 PM   #2

no they did not . all depends on what motor they put back in . might be a later motor with the jumbo bearing that can not be replaced . i would not worry about it and just drive it like you stole it . Just change the oil every 5k with a good oil .
jacabean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 03:00 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by TxAgs986 View Post
I know I'm a noob around here, but yes, I did try and search for this answer. I've been a member of too many car forums!

So, the 2004 Boxster S I just purchased has 47k miles on the car. At 20k in 2007, the IMS failed on the original engine. Porsche warrantied it out and replaced the engine.

How worried do I really need to be about having another IMS failure? Did they do any new engineering to the bearings that might have gone into the new engine in 2007?

Thanks for the info!

Jason
Any Porsche reman engine installed after 2005 carries the oversized non serviceable IMS bearing that cannot be changed without taking the engine apart.
Old 01-28-2014, 03:13 PM   #4