Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2013, 05:21 AM   #1
I am my own mechanic....

Freezing weather

So my baby is garaged, but down to high 30's at night.

How long do you let your B'ster warm up before driving off?

Timco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 05:25 AM   #2

Garage
I'm no expert, but I always wait until the air pump (I think that's what it's called) stops running. About 45-75 seconds.
CoBeerToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 05:27 AM   #3

Hi,

I start it and wait for the revs to drop to 700 or so, then go, but keeping the revs under 4k til its at normal temp (maybe 5 min or so)

Have been doing that for 6 years and no problems.

Past Cars
2006 MB C180k
2005 Peugeot 306
1980 928
2004 Subaru Liberty GT
2000 Nissan Pulsar SSS
smagerstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:33 AM   #4
Carnut

No need to warm up..... the faster the engine warms up the better. Idle when cold runs very rich and the gas will wash off the oil in the cylinder walls and also gets in the oil. Investigate a bit and come to your own conclusion. Not to mention the environment.

JMHO.
Old 02-28-2013, 06:36 AM   #5
I am my own mechanic....

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyA6 View Post
No need to warm up..... the faster the engine warms up the better. Idle when cold runs very rich and the gas will wash off the oil in the cylinder walls and also gets in the oil. Investigate a bit and come to your own conclusion. Not to mention the environment.

JMHO.
Agreed on the enviro issue. New Porsche owner. Don't want to hurt anything.
Timco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:51 AM   #6

I normally just wait 30 seconds for the oil to circulate before moving off and putting any load on the engine. Then keep it below 3.5k for about 10 minutes when the oil is up to temperature.