Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2011, 07:58 AM   #1

Garage
Question on 60K Maintenance

Im wrapping up my DIY 60K Maintenance on my Boxster. There are a few steps/requirements that I am a little unclear on. Thought maybe you guys could help?

Please keep in mind that I am new to the car and to doing any kind of work myself on past vehicles. So if it sounds like a dumb question, I apologize.

1. Axle joints: Check play, visual inspection of the dust bellows for signs of damage, check tightness of screw connections on the suspension adjustment at the front and rear

The part about "check tightness of screw conncections.....". Where am I looking for these connections. A picture would be great!

2. Particle filter: Replace filter element

Is this the CABIN FILTER??

Also, is there a DIY on changing the Differential Oil? (I know this is not part of the 60K maint.)

Thanks All.....

John

Ocean Blue Metallic/Savannah Beige | Tiptronic | Custom Rear Spoiler | 17" Turbo twist | Red Brembo Calipers | GAHH Top w/Glass Window | Tinted Windows | Cruise Control | Leather Interior | Heated Seats | Color Wheel Caps | Traction Control | Debadged
John99Boxster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 09:40 AM   #2

Yes the Cabin Filter is another name for the Particle Filter
nylart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 10:37 AM   #3
Certified Boxster Addict

Check the wheel hubs for free play by pulling/pushing on the wheel from the top/bottom, side to side (9/3 o'clock positions) and in/out. There shouldn't be any free play or clunking.

Visually inspect the rear axle and CV joint covers for wear, tears, or other damage. If damaged, water and dirt will get into the CV joint and cause problems.

Check all of the suspension mounts and bushings for play or wear. Check the suspension bolts for tightness.