Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2008, 06:30 AM   #21

Garage
Same song, different verse. For as long as I've been a mechanic the term "engine temperature" refers to the coolant temperature. Because it's gives an overall temp reading of the engine. Read what the coolant temp gauge is called on any car, it doesn't say Coolant Temp it says Eng Temp.

I'm no an idiot to think the engine oil, combustion cylinder temp and exhaust gas (for that matter) is the same temp as the coolant. As I said in my post "The coolant system maintains the engine at a set temperature by the OEM and my point is that Porsche runs their engines cooler than any other manufacture that I know."

Quickurt,

I do not agree with you when you say "The Europeans understand the purpose of the suspension system is to keep the tires in as close to perfect position and loading at all times, to maintain near perfect adhesion between the tires and pavement. Ride comfort is compromised in favor of control.
American manufactures understand the purpose of the suspension system is to give the car as smooth a ride as possible over any type of pavement surface. Control is compromised in favor of ride comfort."

As explained to me by a German in Germany in simple terms as follows;

German cars are built to withstand the Autobahn. The speed, the curves and stopping. Hence the power from Porsche, Audi, BMW and Mercedes. All these cars are built for high speeds, maintaining high speeds and being safe at those speeds.