Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2016, 12:55 AM   #1

camshaft adjuster

Hi there,

I have been looking for a boxster for a while now and got one offered via PM on a Dutch Porsche website.

Car has a broken camshaft adjuster, apparently something that costs 2500 euro to fix here in the Netherlands.

I have been working on Volvo's for over 10 years and do all my maintenance myself, however completely new to Porsche. Is this something that can be done by yourself, any good posts or books I should look into regarding maintenance on Boxsters?

I have called a few garages here to get a clue and they all told me to back off this car and look for a good version for a few 1000 more.. Any help ?

Edit: forgot I found this site a while ago http://www.pelicanparts.com/techarticles/Boxster_Tech/16-ENGINE-Camshaft_Swap_and_Chain_Tensioner/16-ENGINE-Camshaft_Swap_and_Chain_Tensioner.htm

Last edited by mr.borrie; 04-22-2016 at 01:04 AM.
mr.borrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 05:40 AM   #2
Project Addicted

Maybe a better description of the part and the year+model of the car will help??
1986 944, 2000 Boxster
jcslocum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 05:49 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcslocum View Post
Maybe a better description of the part and the year+model of the car will help??
Porsche boxster 2.5 liters manual from 97
I have not seen the car in person yet, just got a personal message and saw the some photo's

I did see some photo's of rear damage in his album

Last edited by mr.borrie; 04-24-2016 at 12:17 AM.
Old 04-23-2016, 02:54 AM   #4

Talked to the owner again asked him how he made that conclusion. He told me huis dealer found it in the OBD readout. Seems to me something like that wont come up on a OBD readout as its mechenical issue.