Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2013, 07:29 PM   #1

Typical MPG for a Boxster 03 2.7L

I'm new to the Porsche Brand, but itching to try my next mod.

My first mod consisted of a "simple to install" bolt-on plenum that replaces the original stock plenum by Peak Aire Performance, which has yielded 36 to 37 MPG highway driving ( see pic ) & 20 to 23 MPG city.

Not sure if these MPG ratings are good or bad, however the original sticker price label when the car was sold read - 20 City 29 Highway - Comments Welcomed!

Question:

Has anyone successfully increased the size of the stock TB & Intake Plenum from 68mm to 74mm?

I would like to combine the increased performance from the first mod with a larger plenum & TB from a different Porsche model.

Does anyone have the recipe for this "DIY" cocktail?

Speedster986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 07:52 PM   #2
1999 base

Garage
Here is some reading material that will keep you up all night.

http://986forum.com/forums/general-discussions/31693-maf-throttle-body-diameter.html
Meir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 08:29 AM   #3

Garage
who cares about MPG for these cars ???
Old 03-02-2013, 10:54 AM   #4

MPG for Boxster 2.7L????

Meir,

I curse you and the Boxster you drove in on!!!

I was up all night analyzing the entire thread... but over half of that content was somewhat dated... what was the outcome... did you actually do the upgrade.

Have we heard back from any of those participants of that thread?

The results would be very useful testing/modeling that the entire Boxster Community can benefit from.

Also... please comment on MPG for your 2001. Since my plenum upgrade, I'm getting fantastic MGP both CITY 23 & especially:dance: HWY 37. FYI - my findings are based on Porsche's on board computer via steering column.