Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2009, 08:36 AM   #1

LWFW to avoid RMS damage

Just curious as to whether anybody knows whether a light fly wheel could mitigate crankshaft and RMS damage by reducing the overhung weight at the back of the crankshaft. I would think the DMFW at 40 lbs, slightly unbalanced, on a slightly untrue crank could cause undue crank shaft deflection resulting in RMS damage and leaks. I would think by the time you have an RMS leak you already have engine damage.

I was thinking of a LWFW just to prevent this scenario but I am just learning about all the negatives associated with it. I have a very low mileage engine (m96) that I would like to make reliable.

What flywheel would I use to be safe? Do I need a clutch to go along with it? It is not a race car so I would like to keep it as streetable as possible. What are the risks? Will a dynamic balance problem be caused?

Thanks,

jaykay

jaykay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 07:31 PM   #2

You will have a balance problem that may cause harmonic resonance failure of the crank. You will have chatter unless you by an certain clutch ( sprung or unsprung) I dont remember. You will have trouble resurfaceing the after market wheel, if they dont make your inserts anymore. Look up flywheel and jake raby in the search. Do the underdrive pulley- 200$ and 10 HP. less rotating mass.
Pedro rear stabilizer bar, CF strut braces, Maxspeed headers with 100 cell cats, Fabspeed cat bypass pipes, H&R springs with M030 setup, TRG rear links, EVO air intake, B&M Short shift kit, Raby IMS upgrade, Raby underdrive pulley
jhandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 09:19 PM   #3
2001 RUF 3800S

If you have a sprung clutch with a LWFL combo, then the sprung clutch takes in all the vibrations. Thats what ive been reading lately.