Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2007, 06:47 AM   #1

Brake job...

My rotors are starting to wear a little thin and it may be time to replace them before inspection. I got a quote of $480 for 4 crossdrilled zinc-plated Zimmermen rotors and Pagid brake pads w/ new sensors. Does this sound like a good deal? Should changing the brakes be easy enough for someone who is technically minded with simple tools and a Bentley car manual? I've swapped the pads/rotors on my old Nissan Altima. I also have some Super Blue brake fluid laying around... should I replace my fluid with this stuff while i'm at it? I would assume bleeding the brake lines is a 2-man job but i've never done it before.

Any help is appreciated.

But what is so important about driving faster than anyone else?
Lots of people go through life doing things badly. Racing's important to men who do it well.
When you're racing, it's life. Anything that happens before or after is just waiting.
Porschekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2007, 07:56 AM   #2

Brake Job

It is a relatively easy job, you just need to take your time and read the manual. Clean the Caliper bolts threads before reinstalling ann make sure you torque everything to the factory specs with a good torque wrench. As for bleeding the brakes, I find that the best way is with 2 people. And always, repeat always use brake fluid form a fresh sealed can. If the stuff you have laying around is opened... dispose of it...

Arnie
tgarnoldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2007, 08:59 AM   #3

Don't forget to replace the caliper bolts. Porsche recommends that they be replaced if they are removed. Part 999.067.041.09 and they should be around $3 each, you need 8. Use a M12x1.5 thread chaser to clean the threads on the wheel carriers. Torque to 63 ft-lbs.