Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Off Topic > Off Topic Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2019, 02:14 PM   #1
Who's askin'?

How do we treat other forum members when we Buy / Sell

Hey y'all:

I'm posting this thread as a bit of a wake-up call.
I've purchased from several forum members before, and have had nothing but GREAT experiences. In EVERY instance.

In the last several weeks, as I've been parting-out a car that I bought for the donor-motor, I've had some more fantastic experiences. In an effort to be very fair to people, and transparent as well, I have on several occasions agreed to ship the parts before I knew how much shipping costs would be, with the agreement that the buyer would then pay me for the shipping immediately upon me providing a tracking number.

Obviously this puts me at some risk, because I've sent the part.... I could potentially kiss the shipping costs good-bye. But I have this idea that "Trustworthy people Trust". And I do. And in most instances this is has been reciprocated. As a matter of fact, one buyer actually sent me more than we discussed, because I had given him a "not to exceed" number, and it went well over that. I shipped anyway, to honor my word, and this buyer backed me up with an additional, LARGE sum. I don't think he'd want to be named here, so I'll just say his first name starts with Steve. haha

However: Unfortunately there are always those who sour the barrel. I have one forum member who purchased from me at a substantial discount from the typical Ebay-going-rate. These were heavy parts, so I sent him the receipt with tracking number and a total shipping cost on 6/25. He still hasn't paid for that shipping. He's making excuses that are very contrary to the deal we made.