Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2013, 02:43 AM   #1

Garage
P1128 & P1130 Fault codes advice

I got my durametric working on my 99 boxster. I got a P1128 & P1130 code which tells me oxygen sensing range 2 cylinder (1-3) and oxygen sensing range 2 cylinder (4-6). should I replace oxygens sensors? car has 77k on it. is replacing oxygen sensors difficult to do for a diy? Can anyone give me advice on how to resolve these issues?

mikesz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 05:05 AM   #2

Garage
I am no expert, but I saw those codes twice. Neither time was a bad O2 sensor.
The first time, the car wouldn't idle well and eventually would not start. A local indy shop told me to test the fuel pump relay,,, they were right and it was a cheap and easy fix. Doesn't sound like your problem though. The second time it was an early warning that the AOS was going out. Best test for that is to try to remove your oil filler cap while idling,,, too much vacuum/hard to remove may indicate bad AOS, along with increasing smoke at start up. Hope that is somewhat helpful.
MN 986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 05:42 AM   #3

As a first step, clear the codes. Then let the car go through several drive cycles - several starts and restarts plus a mix of street and highway like driving - until its ready to monitor the O2 system again. If the codes don't come back, then they were a false alarm. If they do come back, then further investigation needed.

Replacing the O2 sensors is not the first way to go. IIRC your Durametric might be able to test their voltages to see if they are working in range.
thom4782 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 05:52 AM   #4

try cleaning the MAF sensor.
I've had the same codes come up.
MAF and throttle body cleaning did the job for2 years.
second time cleaning the MAF lasted a year.