Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > DIY Project Guides

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2012, 04:53 PM   #1

DIY HID Projector Install instructions

I saw others had installed HID projectors with bi-xenon lamps in their Boxsters, but they didn't provide many specific instructions, parts, etc. Well, I figured I had nothing to lose because my headlights were pretty bad anyways, so I invested $300 in HID projectors and embarked on my DIY HID journey. Hopefully, you can benefit from my mistakes and from what I learned.

First of all, simply putting HID bulbs in your H7 sockets is NOT the way to go. The light discharge is too intense and unfocused, which is dangerous to oncoming drivers.

Secondly, I'm not a professional, so if you see that I did something stupid, don't be too hard on me. Gentle correction is always constructive.

Thirdly, I'm told that altering headlights is not legal in most parts of the country, although the HID projectors will pass safety inspection.

Things you need.

I ordered from BlackFlameCustoms : HID Projector Headlight Retrofits, Retrofit Service & Parts
  • Mini-Morimoto MH1 bi-xenon projector
  • H1 HID Bulbs (4300/5000k/6000k- your choice)
  • All Digital Morimoto Ballasts
  • Shrouds (to cover the new projectors)
  • Plug-and-play wiring harness

Also other than basic hand tools, you will need a Dremel tool, silicone adhesive sealant, an Xacto knife and an oven.
  1. Follow the instructions to remove the headlight assembly from the car.
  2. Clean the headlight assembly and prepare the oven for baking. After reading various posts and viewing a number of YouTube videos on this process, what seemed to work best is to preheat the oven to around 225 F.