Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2024, 08:48 AM   #1

Are Boxsters Safe For A Teen?

Hi Everyone,
I want to purchase a 2000 Porsche Boxster, but is it safe?
(Long explanation so you can understand my situation)
I'm 16, and have been driving for quite a bit now in a 2005 Toyota Rav4 (My moms old car) that I am grateful for. My parents trust me and know I am a responsible driver. I have worked hard for a while now and have enough saved up for my dream car, a Boxster. However, they are not as concerned about my own error crashing the car but more so a large pickup or SUV running me over or crashing into me. I have done a lot of research but have found limited info on crash tests, etc. So, me and my parents would like to know if Boxsters are (being a convertible sports car) relatively safe? From people that have some real-world experience.
Thank you!

Last edited by Deccmber; 01-22-2024 at 09:23 AM.
Deccmber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2024, 09:51 AM   #2

I would vote no for several reasons.

1. Like you said, its low and could go under a large truck/SUV.

2. The rear visibility/blind spot visibility is pretty poor with the top up. I think this is the biggest issue, especially during "spirited" driving. The Boxster is our third "fun" car, so I can just drive it when the weather is nice and the top can come down if needed.

3. Not safety related - The storage kind of sucks, especially if this is your only car. I mean, I have to put my golf clubs in the passenger seat!

4. Not safety related - Repair costs are high unless you do it yourself.

For a fun slightly more practical car, I would probably go with a BMW 3 series of some sort. That was my first "driver's car." It was great and plenty fast enough to get in to trouble on occasion.

"Sixty percent of the time, it works every time!"