Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2020, 07:52 AM   #1

IMS question!!

I am a young amature mechanic, i own a 2000 porsche boxster 2.7. I used the set screw method (i know, i know) to get to the point where i have my dual row ims bearing exposed with the center bolt knocked out.

We have attempted removing the ims to absolutely no success, having tried everything and begining to worry about damaging other things, would pulling the center bolt back through the bearing and putting the flange back on be a bad idea? I was going to pull it being this far but im realising now i shouldve never touched it after noticing it was the dual row.

Im thinking as long as we put some oil that was lost when removing the flange back in and also knowing nothing has been changed or damaged to the bearing it SHOULD be ok. on the other hand i know at this point there is a chance all ive done is increase the odds of a possible future failure.

rbayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 07:55 AM   #2
Who's askin'?

I have no idea what the "set screw method" is. But if you've pulled on the center of the bearing, then you've stressed the races, and yes, you've absolutely increased the chance of failure.
Change it.

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk

Last edited by maytag; 02-15-2020 at 08:29 AM.
maytag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 09:04 AM   #3

Maytag is correct; once you have stressed the bearing by trying to pull it, it has to come out and be replaced. Doing otherwise is courting disaster.

If you used the idiot set screw method, I would bet you do not have the engine at TDC with the cams locked, which means that the shaft is now off center in the flange opening, which puts you in a very bad situation because it is now very difficult to get the engine into the correct rotational position to remove the bearing.