Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2019, 05:17 PM   #1

installing the IMS solution at home,.??

Has anyone that has NOT been trained to do so,..ever done it in thier garage,.. I got a quote of 3300.00 to do it in Phx,az by a shop

flmont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 06:18 PM   #2

Since the IMS Solution lists for $1,849, $3,300 doesn't seem outrageous but it is a lot of money. I have no DIY experience, but if you end up doing it yourself, here are a couple things I learned from my shop when mine was done.

The flexible oil line from the spin on filter adaptor to the IMS end plate cover was overly long so they had it shortened.

The fitting that came with the kit to screw into the IMS end plate cover had a large hex flange to put a wrench on it. If they used that piece, they would have had to notch the flange of the engine case half all the way to the seam where the case halves meet. They used another piece of threaded tube which enabled them to keep some meat on the case flange near the seam. You can see a gray piece in the picture below:

PaulE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 07:27 PM   #3

Yes I thought it seemed fair..they have the tools,..and I know I could rent /use them for free now I think,..But, locking in the timing might be trickey if I screw that up I would have to tow to a shop to get that fixed and their goes any savings I may have had,..unless locking in the timing is simple,.?? new PP bolts etc,..Plus Iam sure NO warranty if you do it your self..!!
Old 03-27-2019, 05:20 AM   #4

I'm big on DIY because I believe no one will do something with the care and attention to detail that I will, particularly on my boat, but even I have to admit to myself sometimes that there are things better done by a professional.

1985 Porsche Carrera Targa - Guards Red