Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2016, 06:24 AM   #1
alankitchener

normal engine noise ?

Forgive me for asking these questions about noises, etc but I am new to porsches and just like to get peoples views.
On start up, for about a second , I get a noise that resembles a chain being drawn across a wooden box, I seem to have read somewhere about this noise and it was explained that it was the chains going across the tensioners/guides prior to them being pressurized ( all happens very quick)
Is this a fair assumption to make. Thanks Alan

Old 08-19-2016, 07:53 AM   #2

A few days ago your engine was ticking and we helped with that.It has also' clunked' and now it has new noises? But you have never acknowledged resolution of any noise we helped diagnose or suggested remedies for.Perhaps I missed it?
For the current/previous noise, you posted no video/sound, no other diagnostic info as requested , no part number as requested previously, no details of the engine rebuild. We may be able to help with diagnosis but we need data .Otherwise our suggestions are mere clairvoyance.
A very useful tool for these problems is an "Engine Ear" -no, not a long screwdriver or a piece of rubber tube nor a stethoscope - a purpose-made electronic tool to locate noises precisely .
Chassis and Engine Ear Combination Stethoscope ALB30508 | eBay
Your mechanic has one ?
Gelbster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2016, 08:34 AM   #3

I think you have a bad case of "Oh my god! My new engine just made a noise!"
Old 08-19-2016, 12:58 PM   #4
Motorist & Coffee Drinker

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by alankitchener View Post