Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2013, 01:33 PM   #1
ana

Pls help..

Hello, I just inherited a 2003 Boxster and it desperately needs 4 new tires (hydroplaned twice this week! ) but I don't know what to get... please pardon my ignorance, I'm new to this...

The car has Miro 19" rims with 275/30zr wheels in the front and 235/35zr in the back (I may have those backwards)... my question is should I get the same size tires as it has now, i.e. different size front and back, or should I get same size on all 4, if so which size? I don't drive the car much, I keep it for sentimental value, and when I do drive it I don't drive hard. Thanks in advance.....

ana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 01:58 PM   #2
still plays with cars...

Garage
The search function is your friend...

You will find more reading on the subject than you realize exists. Lots of info here!
Arctic Silver on Metropol Blue | LN Dual Row IMSR | Arctic Silver console, spoiler frame & bumperettes | Crios mod | Technobrace | RoboTop module & modified convertible top relay for one-touch roof operation
BoxsterSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 02:28 PM   #3

ana
Because the wheel rims are non standard (Miro), I don't know their dimensions or what tyres will fit correctly. On a Boxster, the rear wheels are wider than the front.
If I were you, I would go to a REPUTABLE tyre supply shop and ask their opinion on what size & type of tyres will fit the rims.
As for the tyres themselves, don't be tempted by installing cheap ones - go for a good manufacturer like Mitchelin, Conti, Bridgestone etc. A good tyre shop will guide you the in the right direction.
You won't regret buying 4 good quality tyres, your Boxster deserves them.....
Old 05-14-2013, 02:33 PM   #4