Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2012, 05:50 PM   #1

Garage
Helmet recommendations

Looking for any advice on getting an autocross helmet. You are free to assume I'm a complete noob.

Thanks team.

2003S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 07:10 PM   #2

Go to a motorcycle shop and try on a few different makers, the fits can differ.
The new carbon fiber helmets are lightweight but they get pricey.
Most tracks/events now require Snell MA or SA 05 or newer helmet. The 2000 helmet may not be accepted. Of course a shop shouldn't be selling them either.

Here's a really nice helmet, something tells me it's an expensive one.

Here's a good selection, you can get an idea of a few options.

Last edited by DFW02S; 04-11-2012 at 07:35 PM. Reason: add selection
DFW02S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 07:38 PM   #3
Certified Boxster Addict

First, get a SA10 helmet. While AX might allow a motorcyle helmet (MA), most track orgs do not so get an auto-rated helmet (SA) from the get go and you'll never be turned away from a driving event (or have to borrow a greasy used SA helmet just so you can run that day).

Second, the safety improvements between a 2005 and a 2010 are significant so get a Snell 2010 compliant helmet for the most protection.

Third, get a full-face helmet. Your mom still appreciates your good looks and I am quite sure that she wants your face to stay that way.

Fourth, get a helmet pre-drilled for a HANS device so you can use one later if you really get into performance driving and decide to install racing seats and 5-pt harnesses in your street car. Happens more often than you might think.