Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2011, 10:56 AM   #1
2000 Arena Red Base

Putting the Boxster to bed 4 the winter

I'm a newer owner, having purchased my 2000 986 this past summer. This is the 1st time for me to put a car in storage for a winter.
I've had the car detailed, and getting the annual service next week. One mechanic told me to wait until next spring, while the other said this is the best time so that it is stored w/ fresh fluids - which sounded best to me.
Bought a nice car cover, although it will be inside storage. Was told to put wood under the tires, and dryer softener towels inside all areas to keep bugs and vermin away and to put moth balls under the car. Plan to start it about every 4 weeks or so.
Any comments on anything else to do is welcome as I'm completely new at this.

Bengalfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 11:02 AM   #2

Hook up a battery maintainer into the cigarette lighter. Over inflate the tires a little. Fuel stabilizer in the tank and ran through the system. Leave it alone and don't start it till spring
brian325is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 11:29 AM   #3
Opposed to Subie Burble

Garage
I'm with Brian, battery maitainer with the cigarette lighter adapter. You're actually able to run the cord through the bottom of the door's weather stripping, where there's a small cutout that allows the wire to exit the car and the door to still fully close. Starting the car and running it idling without actually going for a good, long drive will do more harm than good, believe it or not, so you should just stick with keeping the battery maintained. I don't have the luxury of storing my car indoors, so it definitely needs to be detailed and covered before it hibernates, and I'm only going to be keeping the battery maintained and tires inflated.