Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2010, 10:46 AM   #1

Ignition Key & programing Question

Before I start, I would like to say that this is my first time to post a thread and thank you very much for allowing me to use this website.

I just bought a 2002 Boxster (Base) with 68k millage from a Used Car dealership (non-porsche) and I became the 3rd owner of this car. To make the story short, I got the car and I promise not to go back to that dealeship again (after having a misunderstanding in the price).

My Question is, I got the car with 2 keys with it. Both remote keys doesn't work from the beginning. The alarm button and the two small buttons for opening the rear and front hoods doesnt work, however the red LED is working. Everytime I entered the car, I have to start the car within 10 seconds to avoid the alarm. I tried to fix the problem by changing the batteries, cleaned the circuit board inside the keys, follows all possible solution from this web site. Nothings work.

So I ended up going to one of Porsche dealership to have my remote keys activated (re-programing). Unfortunately, when I got to the dealership, the mechanic is looking for the key's serial number written on a white paper tag. I told them that when I received the car, the dealer just gave me all the manuals but no key's labels. I went out to look over the manuals but I did not see any white key labels from the package. The mechanic told me that when you buy a brand new Porsche car, the 2 keys has a white labels with bar code and serial number on it. Without this serial number, he can not program the car to accept the signal from the keys. But unfortunately, I wasn't the original owner. Maybe the original owner just trashed the labels thinking it is no use anymore.