Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2009, 01:04 PM   #1

Boxster S with a Salvage Title

Hello,

I am new to the Porsche world, looking to buy my first Porsche.
I found a 2001 Boxster S with 75k miles that I like with a salvage title. The owner is asking 11.5k. I probably can get him down another 1k. The car was salvaged because of theft. Apparently, the top was cut into, and they had to replace the whole top.

Just wanted to get an opinion on what you guys think of buying a car with a salvaged title. The car seems to be in very good condition, obviously i would have a ppi done on the car. Do you think this car is priced right? Ive seen Boxster S here in Cali listed for $15k-20k.

Would I have a problems registering this car, or putting full insurance coverage on the car.?
Thanks.

vinas1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 01:09 PM   #2

Thumbs down

I think you are answering your own questions...
Arctic Silver /Black interior
Desnorkled then REsnorkled (planning on Revo flash & prob B&B Exhaust)
mylamb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 01:12 PM   #3

I can't imagine a damaged top would cause the car to have a salvage title (less than 6% of the vehicle value?); must be more to the story.
PCA DE Instructor circa '95
jmatta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2009, 01:36 PM   #4

Kind of reminds me of one of those carfax ads where the car was underwater in a flood and the ad reads "new interior".

There's going to be more to that story than you are hearing today. I wouldn't touch it.
Old 04-09-2009, 01:39 PM   #5

Garage