Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2008, 06:34 AM   #1
FTD

Am I being duped?

I paid someone to put new drop links on my car. I know what they are, where they are, and that it is simple to get to and do, but I thought what if I don't get the bolts tight enough or something like that. I am not a mechanic, just also not ignant and my Dad taught me a lot. But, I decided for the price, convenience, and confidence I would just let this shop do it. Kewl.

Well, I have discovered wheel vibration at 75+ mph. So I called the guy and said I want to bring the car by so he could check the installation. He said - "you need a balance".

OK - why didn't he say something about that initially? Like, once we put these new ones on you are probably going to need to get the wheels balanced. We can/can't do it or we can recommend a place or whatever. Who in the world picks up their car not wanting to be informed of outstanding work?

Secondly, I cannot logically understand how replacing drop links would disrupt balance. Two bolts attached to rigid parts - how did that alter my wheel balance?

Is this guy for real, or is he a fake and I need to go back and present a case to him?

FTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2008, 07:11 AM   #2

You're talking about the sway bar links right? What Porsche calls Stabilizer Links?

If so, you shouldn't need to balance the wheels. The wheels are balanced off the car anyway.

It should not change your alignment either.

They didn't even have to remove the wheels to do the work.

But, you say you're getting a +75mph vibration, so something's not right.

It is possible that you lost a wheel weight (or they knocked it off, carelessly). And, as the tires wear, the wheels can lose their balance, so if your tires have some miles on them, either of these may be to blame.