Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2008, 08:27 PM   #1

Strange exhaust noise when engine is hot

Hello all, this is my first time on this site and I need some help. I have a 2003 Boxster S (great car). It makes a buzzing rattling noise coming from the underside of the car on the passenger side. This noise seems to be coming from the exhaust pipes. It is especially worrisome and loud when I back off from the throttle at low speeds. I had the 'heat shield' tightened, but that did not fix the problem. Any incites as to what it is and how I can fix this problem. Regards. Compass1.

Compass1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 09:21 PM   #2

Noise

CHECK ALL YOUR CLAMPS, AND SUPPORTING BRACE TO YOUR MUFFLER. LOTS OF NUTS THAT POTENTIALLY COME LOSE. Also CHECK THE LOOSENESS Of ANY ALUMINUM HEAT protection UNDER THE ENGINE. Does THE NOISE OCCUR UNDER NEUTRAl with just revving the engine? Or is it just when driving?
Brknbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 03:51 AM   #3
bmussatti

The cats might be damaged.
Old 06-04-2008, 03:58 AM   #4
07 Carrera S Cab

Garage
I had a rattle from my exhaust area only after the car warmed up. Turned out to be a loose clamp that connected a U-tube from my cat to the muffler. The U-tube would move slightly when I shook it. Tightened it up, and no more rattle.

When the car is cold, grab onto every single exhaust part and shake it to see if anything is loose. That's how I finally found out my problem.

It could be a bad cat converter, but not as likely IMO, because you would also probably get a CEL light if that were the case.

Previous: 01 Boxster in Arctic Silver, 86 944 in Guards Red
Boxtaboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 06:11 PM   #5
dj1