View Single Post
Old 06-18-2019, 11:04 AM   #1
JustinS

Introduction / swapping a 3.2L S Engine into a 2.7L Car

Hey guys! My name is Justin, I'm a younger engineer in my mid twenties and I live in New England. I spent some time going to Limerock park when I was younger and I grew up around older Porsches (mostly 944s), 996s, E36s, etc. My first car was a 944 S2. I learned a lot from that car and the older Porsche community. I managed to rebuild the engine and a good portion of the rest of that car thanks to some great advice from the community, the workshop manuals, and with some help from my father and my uncle. I still have the car and drive it frequently.

Around a year ago, my father picked up a 987 Cayman S - it's a great car! I helped him do some basic maintenance on it (filters/fluids/changing the waterpump) to get it in a perfect condition. Naturally, after driving it and spending some time underneath one, I decided to keep my eyes open for a 986.

I recently picked up David's 986 with a blown IMS (Thread 1 , Thread 2) . My original plan was to swap in a 2.7L engine and enjoy the car. Well a day after picking that up, I found a 2001 Boxster S roller car for sale with 93,000 miles. One of the previous owner decided to cut the body all up (his plan was to retrofit a diablo bodykit to it). The car is a tiptronic and it is a running and driving car. I got it for a great price and it also has newer bilsteins on it. The owner also threw in a deep sump oil kit, all of the interior pieces, and a ton of 996 parts he accumulated. I'm hoping to sell a lot of parts off of it (i've done something similar for a 944 S that was hit).

So far I have pulled the engine and I am currently stripping the tub out. I plan to swap in the S suspension, third radiator, brakes, and the 3.2L engine into the black 986. It's a fun father/son project.

I can't find any real documentation to see if anyone has actually done this swap. Wayne Dempsey has written a little about it in his book.