Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck W.
Was that legal (within the rules) for the 140 car to drive that low on the track and pass the other cars?
|
Yes, as far as I am aware that move was legal. We were told in the Driver's Meeting that going below the bottom yellow line on the NASCAR banking (Turns 1 & 2) was out of bounds, but I believe that the white lines on the back straight (where we turn left into Turn 3) are the NASCAR blend lines so its ok to cross them since Turn 3 is essentially defined by the orange barrel at its apex.
The #140 driver is a past 944 champion and won the POC Boxster Spec championship last year so he has some great skills and demonstrated them during that pass.
I should also mention the great heads-up driving by the #705 who didn't come down on the #140 as the #140 came up on the inside.
As long as everyone is paying attention and cooperating, it all works out. Its kind of amazing (that it does work out) and believe me, its incredibly thrilling to be out there in the middle of it all.