View Single Post
Old 02-18-2017, 03:49 PM   #772
thstone
Certified Boxster Addict

Impact Update:

Thanks for all of your good wishes - I genuinely appreciate every one of them. And while I did walk away from last weekend's impact, it was not entirely without issues.

On Saturday evening, a good friend gave me a ride home from the track after the incident and I felt ok, but looking back, I was probably somewhat in a minor form of shock and still riding a wave of adrenaline which masked a lot of emotions and physical feeling.

On Sunday, I felt like crap. I felt like I had been in a boxing match and lost. I was tired and lethargic along with feeling aches all over. I also had a splitting headache that wouldn't go away even with Tylenol. I'm not a headache prone person and rarely have to take more than a single 500mg tablet of Tylenol to get rid of a headache so this was not normal. I figured that this was the downside of the adrenaline and the forces imparted during the impact.

After laying around all day, I noticed my vision becoming blurry around 5pm and shortly thereafter, I started to see lines of colored lights in my vision. This was definitely not normal.

I discussed this with my wife and she drove me to the ER (< 5 mins away) where they took me straight in and thought that I might be having a stroke or a brain hemorrhage. The hospital moved as fast and as well coordinated as a F1 pit crew and administered history, dexterity tests, blood tests, EKG, and a cat-scan within 15 mins of my arrival to the ER. All of the tests were normal/fine.

Within an hour, my symptoms had subsided and I was feeling better than I had all day. They kept me for a few hours of observation and the ER doctor called and coordinated with my personal physician.