Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2011, 04:17 PM   #1

help please!!!

i own a 1999 boxster tiptronic and ive been having gearbox problems lately so i just changed the entire gearbox and everything is going perfectly except when shifting from 2nd to 3rd after the 3rd gear engages and i rev it there is a period of 1 second before it is engaged again and works normally so my mechanic says that it needs to be driven carefully for a week or so so that the valves get cleaned and the oil takes its place is this true? or do i need to exchange the gearbox once again? thank you in advance for your help

gs986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 08:12 PM   #2

I would guess torque convertor. But then, I'm not a mechanic.
Old 10-29-2011, 12:44 PM   #3

and i forgot to mention that when going from 4th gear to 3rd this problem does not occur... any1 ??!! :P
Old 10-30-2011, 01:50 PM   #4

I m sorry to post again so soon but my problem still persists and i need to know what to do before confronting my mechanic and hear him lie to me i would apreciate any feedback on whether this kind of problem goes away with time and patience or do i have to put it back in the shop
Thank you in advance
Old 11-01-2011, 11:37 AM   #5
Opposed to Subie Burble

Garage