Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2009, 10:41 AM   #1

A few questions

Forgive me if there are simple answers to these questions, but I'm new to the whole DIY car scene.

I've recently replaced a few bulbs in the tail lights and I noticed that the rear parking light on the passenger side won't turn on even with a good bulb installed. I'm talking about the light that comes on when you turn on your lights and pull the knob out all the way. Any ideas what I could do to fix that?

I'm experiencing minor slipping, only happens every once in awhile. Rest of the time it's smooth sailing. (Tiptronic 97 Boxster) Is there something I could do to fix this problem or should I just take it in for the service? Is this something I should be worried about becoming worse if I don't take care of it ASAP?

I'm hearing some squeeking when steering at low speeds ie. pulling into the driveway or parking. Any DIY solutions?

Thanks in advance.

Old 07-31-2009, 11:13 AM   #2

those aren't the parking lights, they are the rear fog light. Only the light on the driver's side of the vehicle is supposed to light up. If you were in Europe, the right side would light and the left would not.

Suspension sqeaks are normal - depends on how loud and feel, etc.

Slipping how? Wheels? Tranny?
Burg Boxster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 11:17 AM   #3

Ah I see, that makes sense. The squeaking is pretty loud and annoying, and as for slipping , it's the tranny.
Old 07-31-2009, 12:41 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burg Boxster
Only the light on the driver's side of the vehicle is supposed to light up. If you were in Europe, the right side would light and the left would not.
You mean England?
PCA since 1970
70Sixter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2009, 01:35 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by 70Sixter
You mean England?