Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2008, 05:27 PM   #141

OK Ksport fans... I discovered a new problem with my coilovers. The top bolts up front are so much taller than factory that the outside ones on both sides protrude and touch the plastic cover, which has rubbed the paint off the inside of my hood.

This developed after the first hard driving day I did in the country Saturday.

I must now grind down at least one on each side to ensure that rubbing stops.

RandallNeighbour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 12:24 PM   #142

ok, my final verdict is in on these things. i finally found a good track setup & went racing last thursday. bottom line: these are pretty good. first, a caveat: i am a VERY consistent driver, so i feel comfortable comparing my times with various equipment.

my previous best time at this track was a 1:12.7. this was done on the bridgestone RE-01R tire (1.01G standard grip) with the M030 springs, GT3 front sway and H&R rear sway. i had NO passenger and was running on fumes; the car was as light as it gets on track.

this time i was running on Fuzion ZRi tires (0.93G standard grip). these tires are generally about 7 or 8 tenths slower at this track than the RE-01R's. my first laps out, i had a full tank of gas AND a passenger; i ran ~1:13.2's. later in the day, i got down to less than 1/2 tank of gas and no passenger. also, i'd learned to drive this particular setup a bit better. i turned a 1:12.2. so, i turned a time that was 1/2 second faster on SLOWER tires. when i adjust for the tire difference, my net gain on the same tires would be about 1.3 - 1.4 seconds a lap (1.41 mile course). that is a HUGE gain for some one looking for tenths. i think i could have even done better had i had one or two more sessions.