Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2008, 06:27 AM   #1

MAS vs. Rough rich start-up

My 2000 Boxter runs rough and rich for about 30-45 sec's. after start-up. I took it to the local foreign repair shop and they say it need a new MAS sensor. The car has 57k on it. That sounds more like an automatic choke or some other related sensor to me, otherwise wouldn't the car run crappy at all speeds if it was a MAS? After the initial start-up problem it smoothes out. I am new with Porsches so I admit that I could be way off on this one. Anyone want to give their two cents worth is welcome.
Tks.,
MR.G.

MR.G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 07:18 AM   #2

The Boxster doesn't have an MAS, it has a MAF. It is a Bosch Hot Film type which sits in the airstream in the intake. It's not the most robust unit despite several redesigns. It passes an electrical current through this conductive film and heats it to a constant temperature. As air flows over it, this film cools and more power is required to keep it heated to the proper temperature resulting in slight variations to this constant current. The computer extrapolates the air mass from these variations. Because it sits directly in the airflow, it is subject to dirt, oil and such and can become dirty. This accumulation of dirt can result in current variances outside the normal, expected, range. The film can also tear. When these things happen, the computer is unable to select the proper map for the existing conditions and usually goes to a fixed default map.

If the MAF is just dirty, it can be removed and cleaned using a spray solvent to remove the dirt and oil. This is successful about 50% of the time. That would be the first thing to try. Use the search function for a How-To - it's been discussed here many times and there are good instructions.