Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2007, 04:49 PM   #1

Autocross monster?

I'm in my second year of autocrossing Nicole (02 Boxster S) and am considering the future modifications I'd like to do to the car to make it a handling maniac. I'm happy with the power as I don't see too many people with huge HP winning the events I've been to. My goal would be to modify the suspension to make it corner that much better. Yes, I know it will bump me a class but I'm not terribly concerned about that.

So... the question at hand is what would you recommend to make my 02 S an autocross monster? Coilovers? Lowering springs and dampers? Strut braces? Lower stress bar? Change out of sway bars? Other stuff?

The way I drive has the car handling very neutral which I like a lot, but I would like to maintain more speed through the corners before either end cuts loose.

I like the idea of the ROW 030 kit but I'm not sure how it compares to my current suspension or a coilover setup? The reason I like it is the kit takes the guesswork out of it because it was tuned by Porsche. Thoughts?

Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 05:35 PM   #2

Another edict of racing is "How fast you want to go? Well.. how much are you going to spend".

Adjustable Coilovers are an excellent start (and luckily lots of options that range from PSS9s ($2000) to .. welll.. seriously LOTS of money possible here.

Sway bars too (adjustable GT3 front bar is a popular option)

Lightweight rims and tires (think big enough for 245's all around or staggered at 245/275 front rear. IMHO the boxster needs nice big fronts to help dial out understeer.

Tires.. Top time of day is HOOSIER. Next, Khumo V710s.. then, it seems pretty well split based on driver/car skills with Toyo RA-1s, Victoracers (if you can find your sizes) and maybe the new Nittos.