Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Performance and Technical Chat

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2007, 04:05 PM   #1

Oil Change tools???

Wow, I changed my own oil in my garage the process was a bit of a pita since I didnt have the proper oil filter removal tool so I used a universal gripper type to remove the filter, also I used an allen wrench to remove the oil filter plug. I changed the oil to Mobil 1 0W40.

Since I am not a mechanic can anyone tell me what measurement is the allen tool and the oil filter tool PLEASE? My car was in storage for the whole winter I was even comtemplating on letting her go since I dont use her that much but once I got back on her seat and took her out I couldnt come home I forgot how much fun this baby is to drive. I'm keeping her and she's all mine

chgolatin2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2007, 05:34 PM   #2

I believe the oil drain plug uses a 8mm and the oil filter is 74mm. Personally I would buy the Porsche oil filter tool as I had problems finding a good compatible filter wrench. Ended up with two useless filter wrenches since O'Rielly auto parts doesn't have a good return policy.
alikhan78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 01:02 AM   #3

Thumbs up Exactly right

8mm Allen wrench for the oil plug and 74mm filter housing wrench. The Oil drain plug gets 37 ft-lbs torque and the filter housing gets screwed back on with 19 ft-lbs torque. Remember to always use a new aluminum crush-ring seal on the oil drain plug and use a new rubber O-ring (comes with filter) on the filter housing. Apply a small amount of motor oil to the rubber O-ring before you put the filter back on.

My last oil change before the one I just did myself was by the Porsche dealer. Those knuckleheads put my filter on soo tight it was a ******************** to get off. They obviously did not follow the service manual specs of 19 ft-lbs torque +/- 1 ft-lb.