Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > New Members - Start here! > New Member Introductions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2017, 02:25 AM   #1

New Owner - 2000 Boxster S

Hi everyone! I’m new to the 986 world. I just bought a 2000 S and it’s a great driver. I’m torn with the decision to have an IMS swap done on it. I’ve read everything about this and cannot come to a conclusion. This car has 83k on it. If it needed a clutch now, it would be an easier decision but the clutch is good. Thoughts? I don’t want to start another IMS debate; however, any wisdom is appreciated. I’ve been quoted about $3400 for Ln IMS, RMS, and clutch kit replacement.

I’d also like to upgrade to a 997 shifter and a nicer knob. Otherwise I like it the way it is.

The other minor issue is that the top side tension cables end up outside of the plastic rail when the top goes up. I’m not sure how to address that. I’ve searched some on this and haven’t found a good how-to. Can anyone point me to instructions?

I’d upload a photo but it’s not letting me do so from my phone.

Bloomj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2017, 03:57 AM   #2
Motorist & Coffee Drinker

Garage
Pick five of these to read:
https://www.google.com/search?q=site%3A986forum.com+should+i+replace+the+ ims&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8

I'd probably wait 'till it needs the clutch done. If you are going to be worrying about it every time you drive, do it now.

For the top, read this:
https://sites.google.com/site/mikefocke2/convertibletopedgedoesnotfallintoguidech

Welcome to the forum.
Old 10-30-2017, 01:13 AM   #3

Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by 78F350 View Post
Pick five of these to read:
https://www.google.com/search?q=site%3A986forum.com+should+i+replace+the+ ims&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8

I'd probably wait 'till it needs the clutch done. If you are going to be worrying about it every time you drive, do it now.

For the top, read this: