Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > New Members - Start here! > New Member Introductions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2014, 05:46 AM   #1

Am I ready for a Boxster?

Hello from RI,

I have been a car nut since before I could drive due in part to my fathers obsession with early RX7's and datsuns. for the past 15 years i have been exclusive to VW golfs and have owned about 15 of them. Currently I am restoring a MK1 Rabbit GTI and will be done with it soon. I feel that I've done all that can be done with VW's and have out grown them as enthusiast cars and unless my rabbit completely wins me over i plan on selling it to move on to a more refined obsession.

After a 10 year career as a VW/Audi Tech I have left the car business and have almost completed my training in Network Administration. When I start my new career I plan on selling my over priced snap-on tool box that's taking up space in my garage, the specialty tools I don't need and my restored VW to get a Boxster.

My budget should be around $12000 and would prefer to get a Boxster S if possible. I wouldn't have a problem working on the car as long as I dont have to remove the drive train since I don't have a lift at home.

Is the $2000 yearly ownership budget accurate If you do the work yourself? What are some good sources for parts? At what mileage is it due for any major service that would motive previous owners to sell it? Do Boxsters have a engine-out service?

Basically, would a $12000 boxster with 50-75k be reliable for a year or two until needing any major work? I feel that i deserve a nice car I can just toss a nice set of wheels and exhaust on and just cruise without worrying about breaking it.

Sorry for the long post but I have lots of questions that need answering.

NoMoreVWs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 07:25 AM   #2