Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > DIY Project Guides

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2017, 03:33 PM   #1
Beginner

Garage
Will it work?

Will I end up with a new headlight seal, or the headlight irretrievably glued into the fender?

I've been working on headlights and of course the seals have turned into something resembling decomposing tar, but without decomposing tar's redeeming qualities.

So I've been thinking on making my own, not necessarily identical to stock, but at least a seal, and using better material would be nice. This is my first attempt.

Enter my painting and home repair skills. Surely Home Depot has something that would work as a seal, they have everything else.

and here it is...

Sun resistant RTV oh yeah, if I can form a seal out of that then I'm good for 30 years if the GE marketing team is telling the truth. But where to get the other half of the mold?

With a little high tech silicone release agent on the blue tape...

I should be good to inject some silicone

and voila

So it is currently curing in the garage as I type.

Did I just glue my headlight into the fender, or find a way to make a new gasket?

Old 03-27-2017, 03:39 PM   #2
still plays with cars...

Garage
If it works out, could I send you a couple of rolls of painter's tape and you can fashion me a set?
Neat idea, I hope it works out for you.
Arctic Silver on Metropol Blue | LN Dual Row IMSR | Arctic Silver console, spoiler frame & bumperettes | Crios mod | Technobrace | RoboTop module & modified convertible top relay for one-touch roof operation
BoxsterSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2017, 04:05 PM   #3