Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > DIY Project Guides

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2014, 04:48 PM   #1

New to LA with a 987 looking for advices (garage, dye, keys)

Hi,

i'm new to Los Angeles (transfered from Europe) and i bought a very nice 987.
i got 5 questions :

1. I'm looking for a good maintenance garage in the LA area (i'm living near Northridge but i'm fine going further if it's worth it) that won't overcharge me.

2. The car only came with 1 set of keys, so i want to make an extra, i've reached to a local porsche dealer and he asked for about 275$ total, is this too much ? If you have advices please let me know. I saw you can order some on ebay and get them programmed at a porsche retailer.

3. There's some light sparks on the seat leather, steering wheel as well as on some plastic pieces. Nothing too bad but i saw some nice restoration works and way too many different products on ebay.
My interior is "Tan" / Beige, do you have a recommendation (either a product to use or a place to get it restored for a fair price) ?
How to be sure it's the right color when ordering ?

4. Is there a maintenance product you would recommend the leather ?

5. Any piece i should pay special attention to for maintenance ? (driving belt has been replaced twice already), current milage is 77'000 miles.
Thanks for your help

poulpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 09:30 PM   #2

#4. Leatherique Rejuvenator Oil and Leatherique Pristine Clean - love it. I'm not a pro, but I was in charge of detailing/maintaining all vehicles when under my parents roof. Used many, many, many leather products - this is by far the best I've found. Completely changes old leather.