Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2007, 05:10 AM   #1

Brakes Locked Up...

The brakes on my 97 Boxster are locked up solid. The peddle feels like it is welded to the car it is so hard, no play at all.

I am going to get into it a little deeper this weekend and I am not a novice at working on cars - SCCA and PCA racer, mechanic, etc. and I have changed the brake fluid on this car several times before in preparation for PCA Drivers Ed events.

Has anyone else experienced this situation? What did you discover?

Thanks for any help, I've always been able to find knowledgeable people on this forum.

Steve

SteveHMaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 06:34 AM   #2

Hi,

Of course, my first suspicion is the Master Cylinder, especially on a '97. Where is your Fluid level at? What is the approx. dimension of remaining Pad material and the Rotor dimension? When you swap fluid, do you use a Power Bleeder or the traditional Press the Pedal and Release method? When was the Fluid last changed? At the last Pad change, did you replace the Brake Hardware (pins, shims, etc.) in addition to the Pads? Have you checked the High Current ABS Fuse - (F1) on the Current Distributor? The ABS Control Module Fuse (B9) in the Fusebox?

I think the problem lies somehwere in the answers to these questions. At least it's the right place to start. Good Luck! Keep us informed...

Happy Motoring!... Jim'99
MNBoxster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 06:54 AM   #3

Didn't know about the fuses...

Thanks Jim,

Do you know exactly what the fuses do and what effect they would have on the current (pardon the pun) situation?

All the brake components are good as far as I know, I do use a power bleeder and everything was replaced about a year and a half ago prior to a PCA event in NH.