Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2020, 07:02 PM   #1
Boxing in Australia

Finaly taking the IMS plunge

Hello Boxerphiles,

as we emerge fro 8 months self isolation due to the virus and I have recovered from some significant home maintenance expenses just prior to lockdown, I am going ahead with having an LN engineering DOF IMS solution fitted by my local independent technician who has a good reputation with the Porsche Club.

I have been agonising over this decision for th 4 years I have owned the car (2003 986 2.7 tip) the car has only travelled under 90,000 kms but it is 17 years old and I am hoping it will stay in the family when I can't use it anymore (I turned 80 years old last May)

No more worrying about driving an un- exploded bomb. In the event that we do sell it I think the conversion will increase the value of the car and its saleability.

Cheers, stay safe from the out of control Covid situation in the U.S and Europe.

Alan Mackew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2020, 07:26 PM   #2

Good choice, Alan! If it were mine I wouldn't do it, but if it gives you piece of mind, then that's all that matters and it's well worth it.

Cheers!
Old 11-13-2020, 05:41 AM   #3

I had the "Solution" installed on my car soon after I purchased it.
I now have piece of mind...... and the plain bearing has pressure fed oil.
maxnine11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2020, 07:25 AM   #4

I've owned my 2003S since it was new. I upgraded to the IMS Single Row Pro, a dual row ceramic bearing, at 43k miles and that failed at 77k miles. I now have the IMS Solution, which I originally thought was overkill. You are making the right choice, and anyone thinking of changing their IMSB should only go for the IMS Solution in my opinion!