Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2006, 10:14 AM   #1

Ok dont laugh please, how to clean the car?

Im new at this, never in my life I have clean a car before,( never owned a Porsche before).

Im starting to clean my Porsche and now Im actually enjoying a lot,
I dont want to damage or scratch anything so please what steps into cleaning the car?

Outside? pressure washer? what soap, dry with cloth or sun dry?

Inside?(I bought leatherique, what about for the middle console I dont want to use anything that can ruin the mat finish

Windows?

Top? (I was told to leave it alone)

I bought a foam spray that leaves the tires like new (that's easy)

All tips are welcomed.

motoadve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 10:56 AM   #2
bmussatti

Moto, there is some great advice on this Forum regarding your question. A few skilled "searches" and you will find a ton of stuff, especially from Perfectlap.

Here are a few tips:

Washing- lots of water! Wet the car first. Don't use a sprayer nozzle; just let the water "sheet" on the car. Use a high quality soap (I use Zaino Z7) and water. Make the wash water frothy & sudsy. Wash with a high quality wash mitt or cloth. Try www.autopia.org for some high quality washing cloths and drying cloths. Wash when the car is cool, and out of direct sunlight. Wash in the direction that the wind passes over the car. No circular motions. Wash a section and rinse. Don't use the same water on your wheels as you do on the car. Use fresh. You can get real "anal" and do the 2 bucket wash too. If the car is real dirty, change your soapy water in-between. You can wash the hood and trunk first. Then do the sides. Wash the dirtiest part last, or change the wash water. I do wash my wheel first, because it takes so long, and I don't want water sitting (spotting) on the car.