Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2018, 03:08 PM   #1

Clutch pedal engages high

As the title states ....... last summer I bought a 98 base with 9100 miles on it and since have put on another 6K basically the car was a 20 year old new car. I’ve had manual tranny’s my entire driving history, just saying I’m not a beginner. The clutch pedal engagement is getting higher and higher with NO slippage at all, I have power bled the clutch twice (pedal depressed) with no improvement. I’ve read posts on slave cylinders and master cylinders but can’t find any tests to prove which one or both would be causing my problem. Are there any tests or suggestions you know of? I do all my own work and would prefer not to change parts/money unnecessarily. I absolutely love the car but would love it more if the clutch pedal felt better, the clutch assist spring has been removed. Thanks in advance, Dave

WhiteyII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 07:19 PM   #2

No one has a high pedal but me...........
Old 05-23-2018, 10:00 PM   #3

Sounds like it’s clutch, flywheel, and pressure plate time. Especially if getting worse. As a 98, probably ok to leave the IMS alone, but might be worth a look... rear main seal gets done too...
Geof3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 11:09 PM   #4
Custom User Title Here

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geof3 View Post
Sounds like it’s clutch, flywheel, and pressure plate time. Especially if getting worse. As a 98, probably ok to leave the IMS alone, but might be worth a look... rear main seal gets done too...
At 15k miles?

The clutch hydraulic system is self adjusting, so engaging high (or low, for that matter) has nothing to do with clutch/pressure plate/flywheel condition. When my clutch started slipping, it was still engaging at the same point as always.