Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2017, 02:37 PM   #1

Slight problem during oil change, what to do next?

Hi,
I am changing my oil on my 99 Boxster (Standard, not an S). I've always changed my own oil but this is my first time on the Boxtster. I used a ramp on the rear driver-side wheel and rolled up that so I can get my drain tub under there. I let it drain for an hour at least and going back to it there's still a slow but constant drip coming out. No problem- without turning the enging on I rolled it down the ramp and got a smaller container under there. Sure enough, a faster drip ensued so I thought ok good, let it drain some more. Waited a while, went back to it, it's time to get the drain plug back on. I couldn't reach so I had to start the engine and I ran it for the 5 seconds it took to back up the ramp. However, in that short time it definitely made a loud grinding noise. In my other cars I would occasionaly have to run the engine just long enough to reposition the car but never heard a grind. I haven't even added the new oil back in yet, figured I'd check with you all and see if there's anything special I need to do here. Do I just add the new oil and hope for the best?

Mauiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 02:47 PM   #2
Custom User Title Here

Garage
You ran an engine with no oil? Yikes
That's an incredibly bad thing to do. Maybe you got lucky, but it sounds like you caused some serious damage. Have it towed to a competent mechanic and next time, no matter the car, just use a jack.
particlewave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 02:56 PM   #3

^ this.

Or if this was my car, I'd just scan it for faults as 'some' would have certainly registered if a mechanical failure would have occurred. Turn the key/ignition to ON > Scan for faults/code using a generic OBD handscaner.