Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2017, 01:08 PM   #1

Question Help for a newbie.

Hello, I hope I am posting this in the correct forum.
I'm looking at buying an older 1999 Boxster as my new (weird daily) because my current (weird) daily (94 Subaru Legacy RS) is going to die soon. I have some questions that I am hoping this community can answer. First I want to state something about myself so you may be able to better help me answer some of the questions. When I say id use this car as a daily I mean it (I have a backup encase though). I am a learning mechanic, I love weird cars, my current car is an ex rally car, I am knowledge in flat engines thanks to my love for Subaru and Beetles.
Now for my questions.
1: What are your opinions on using a Porsche as a daily? I wouldn't be pushing it to its limits and I also take good care of my cars so It should last long.
2: I hear that pre 2000 only have a 1% IMS baring failure opposed to the post 2000 having an 8% failure.
3: If you own a pre 1999 what did you pay for it and how reliable has it been?
4: I get that Porsche is an exotic car but is a 986 weird to maintain? (Is it hard to change oil? and things like that).
5: Is there anything I need to know if I do indeed want to get one?

Note: This would be my first Exotic car but I have driven fast/weird cars in the past hens my rally car daily. Im also sorry for any spelling or grammatical error I didnt catch.

Whopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2017, 01:14 PM   #2

Note I know I should get the Porsche I want a PPI.
Old 06-14-2017, 01:17 PM   #3
Porsche "Purist"

Garage
Welcome, start here:

http://986forum.com/forums/general-discussions/14685-thinking-buying-boxster-must-read.html
Owned and repaired Porsches since 1974. Porsche: It's not driving, it's therapy.
Paul is offline   Reply With Quote