Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2017, 07:15 PM   #1

Good driving books?

Hey guys I'm pretty new to the world of sports cars. I've had bikes for almost 4 years and have read a lot of books that helped me along the way. My skills riding a bike are the way they are with the help of these books along with many miles of personal experience. I'd like to become a better driver and will be trying autocross and driver's ed in the near future(hopefully sometime this year). In the meantime, I was wondering if anyone had any books they'd recommend on driving and maybe the mechanics or physics as well. Especially if there is anything for mid engined cars such as our Porsche Boxsters. Basically a book like A Twist of the Wrist but for cars.

Mr Flat Six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 07:41 PM   #2

Look these up on Amazon.com
Perfect Control
The Perfect Corner
The Perfect Corner 2

The entire Ross Bentley series of Speed Secrets

You'll have about all you'll ever need to know with the above books.
Old 03-30-2017, 07:47 PM   #3

Thank you for the recommendations!
Old 03-30-2017, 08:46 PM   #4

I like all the Carroll Smith books. Maybe a bit more on the engineering side than driving, but have a look.
Carroll Smith Books . The Official Carroll Smith Site
Old 03-31-2017, 05:49 AM   #5
Certified Boxster Addict

The Bible on performance driving. Everyone should own this book. I re-read it every 6 months.

Ultimate Speed Secrets by Ross Bentley

1997 Spec Boxster BSR #254
1979 911 SC
POC Licensed DE/TT Instructor

Last edited by thstone; 03-31-2017 at 05:52 AM.
thstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2017, 09:36 AM   #6