Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2015, 03:03 PM   #1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Tinker View Post
A word of caution............
Great information Steve, thanks for posting. It sounds like wrapping them would be the easiest and most cost efferent. I have never done it before but will start doing my homework on it.

2016 BMW M2, 6 Speed LBB - ED 7/2016
1997 993 Cab - Sold; 1997 993 Turbo - Sold
2001 Boxster S - Original Owner - 30K Miles -SOLD
Chuck W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 03:17 PM   #2

Interesting on the heat issue. The first thing I noticed was the truck didn't get nearly as hot as it use to so I thought I was in the clear on excessive heat.
89 944 S2
78 911SC
Porsche9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2015, 04:24 PM   #3
Rennzenn

Garage
I've been running bypass pipes for 4 years/40k miles with no issues. The car is lowered, so angles/clearances may be a bit different.
Old 04-11-2015, 07:46 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck W. View Post
Great information Steve, thanks for posting. It sounds like wrapping them would be the easiest and most cost efferent. I have never done it before but will start doing my homework on it.
Chuck - I can't say I like wrapping - it works OK but I have very good experience with ceramic coating of exhaust pipes, mostly on motorcycles where you can literally feel the difference by placing your hand on the pipe within a few minutes of stopping the engine. To get the best heat dissipation, the pipes need to be coated on both inner & outer surfaces and it is cost affective - just google your local area for ceramic coatings.....
Old 04-12-2015, 05:07 AM   #5