Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2006, 11:18 AM   #1

New battery recommendations?

hi folks,

we have an '02 S we bought 5 months ago in October. What a solid car.

We have not been driving it as much as we would like this winter, so of course, the battery is not holding a charge on our short drives. Instead of doing the charging thing, i was just going to get a new battery. Figure 2.5 years on the OEM is all I can expect in this climate!

Question. As a Porsche newb, I'm not sure what the hose is that comes off the left side of the OEM battery. I was hoping to buy a Diehard or Optima. will I be able to re-attach this hose, and what is it for(electrolyte overflow)?

thanks!

2002 Toyota Tundra 4x4-daily driver

Last edited by S_PILOT; 03-26-2006 at 11:37 AM.
S_PILOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 11:39 AM   #2

You can buy replacement batteries for the boxster at autozone. they have the lip on the side and a vent tube that can be connected to your porsche. 69 bucks.
Finallygottaporsche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 01:56 PM   #3

thanks!

what a roundabout. went to 3 places....every one that showed me the spec. battery was too narrow. so I went to a place that sells Bosch(they probably are the OEM provider to Porsche anyway....the batteries look identical), and we just found one with the proper cranking amps rating and measured to ensure it was the right dimensions.

the OEM battery did indeed test bad, so I got a new one and am good to go!

thanks again.
Old 03-26-2006, 03:46 PM   #4

Hi,

Many cars have the Battery in the Engine Compartment and have sufficient airflow to vent these gasses naturally. But not in the Boxster, where the Battery is enclosed.