Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2014, 07:44 AM   #1

Red face Newby: Boxster horn diag

Hi to all, a new member of this great site. I've read some very good threads on boxster horns not working so followed the route of checking fuse (ok), swapped relay (no clicking, not sure if there should be?) next was going to look at horn retaining frame although there is plenty of springy movement , any advise would be much appreciated please, thanks, Wolfy.

wolfy2.7boxster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 08:48 AM   #2

Could be the clock spring.
seningen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 07:34 PM   #3

horn woes, and wrong fuses?

I'm also a noob and having horn difficulties. No horn working at all.

I found the fuses, and the piece of paper says there should be a 25 Amp (!) fuse in B2, which is the horn (98 Boxster). Seems like a lot.

Sure enough, there was a blown out 5A fuse there. For a quick test I put in a 10A fuse and the horns blow continuously

Can anyone tell me which relay is the horn relay?

What book should I buy that would have this info - the Bentley book?

Finally, and most disturbingly, lots of fuses didn't seem to match what is in the fuse chart. Like maybe 1/3 of them are wrong, and usually higher than what is supposed to be in there.

I could be wrong, but I don't think so since B2 was the horn fuse... I'm pretty sure I'm reading the chart right.
DG Boxster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 07:56 PM   #4
Registered Boxster abuser