Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2011, 06:51 AM   #1

Power Steering Pump Removal & Installation

I would like to share my experience on working with my Boxster (Base & TIP) year 2002. But I would like you to know that I am not a mechanic. I am just a trying hard hobbyist on fixing cars. Last month, my car started creating a whining noise so I did check and found out that the noise is coming from the steering pump. I bought a new pump from autoparts warehouse for $327 brand new. So here we go.

1. Open the compartment engine as usual.

2. Remove both the trottle body tube and resonance tube by unscrewing the four screw type brackets. Be carefull because there are some wirings and vaccum hoses attached to the underside of these tubes. I actually broke one that is connected to the throttle tube and cost me $18 to buy from the dealler. Remove everything connected to it including a flex hose connected to the AOS.

3. Once cleared, disconnect the two sensor terminals on top of the engine block and behind the reservoir to make room.

4. Try to siphon or collect as much fluid as you can from the reservoir. What I did is I used a syringe with flexible tube attached to siphone some of the fluid from the reservoir. However, there is no way you can avoid leaks from the reservoir.