Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2014, 04:59 AM   #1

RIP Tom Magliozzi

Listened to Tom, with brother Ray (the "Tappet Brothers"), on Car Talk for years and years and years. The man was intelligent and witty on many levels and about widely varied subject matters, a philosopher and comedian and mechanic all rolled into one. And a laugh that made you laugh (or at least ) regardless of whether or not you 'got' the joke. Never met the guy, but I feel like I've lost a long-time near and dear friend.

If you're interested, NPR is doing a remembrance this afternoon at 2:00 today.

Frodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 05:39 AM   #2

That's sad; I really enjoy that program. I didn't realize I had been listening to re-runs since 2012.
Joe B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 05:40 AM   #3

When their show went off the air I had to substantially modify my Saturday morning routine and Saturday mornings have never been as much fun since then. Always enjoyed their humor, their knowledge, and their deep appreciation of our relationship to our cars. RIP

Larry (the Bald Eagle)
Bald Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 06:00 AM   #4

Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe B View Post
That's sad; I really enjoy that program. I didn't realize I had been listening to re-runs since 2012.
Ya been that long great fun show was missed when they pulled it. It's sad how many good hosts and auto sport broad caster have passed in the last few years.
* 3.6L LN block, 06 heads, Carrillo H rods, IDP with 987 intake, Oil mods, LN IMS. * Spec II Clutch, 3.2L S Spec P-P FW. * D2 shocks, GT3 arms & and links, Spacers front and rear * Weight reduced, No carpet, AC deleted, Remote PS pump, PS pump deleted. Recaro Pole position seats, Brey crouse ext. 5 point harness, NHP sport exhaust