Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2012, 09:35 PM   #1

Headlight Switch Removal

I know this is a basic question, but I am new to this and not sure how to remove the switch so I can replace it with a new one. See photo.

I removed the 24mm nut holding the unit together. I tried yanking the unit straight out, but that didn't work. I tried twisting clockwise assuming it had locked into the black tabs. I'm concerned I will break the plastic assembly. What are those black tabs for anyway?

I appreciate your help.

Old 07-11-2012, 11:20 PM   #2
Custom User Title Here

Garage
Once the nut is removed, the round piece with the lighted icons pops straight out(kinda snug). Then, behind that, you'll see that you need to rotate the switch assembly a few degrees ccw via two tabs and it will slide out of the plastic housing.

Is that what you were asking?
Old 07-12-2012, 03:41 AM   #3

Here are the instructions ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenheckler View Post
I know this is a basic question, but I am new to this and not sure how to remove the switch so I can replace it with a new one. See photo.

I removed the 24mm nut holding the unit together. I tried yanking the unit straight out, but that didn't work. I tried twisting clockwise assuming it had locked into the black tabs. I'm concerned I will break the plastic assembly. What are those black tabs for anyway?

I appreciate your help.

Replace Lights Switch

Happy Boxstering
Pedro
Old 07-12-2012, 06:32 AM   #4

did you spray it with contact cleaner . it will most likely fix the problem . unless the unit is actually damaged .
jacabean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 02:53 PM   #5

Thanks everyone. The problem ultimately was that I had to pull the bezel out and rotate so that the switch slides out. Pedro's website helped a lot.
Old 09-23-2012, 08:23 AM   #6