Go Back   986 Forum - The Community for Porsche Boxster & Cayman Owners > Porsche Boxster & Cayman Forums > Boxster General Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2012, 06:53 AM   #1

2nd Gear problems

Hi everyone,

This is my first post, so hopefully I'm in the correct section. As the title states, I am having some trouble with shifting into 2nd gear. This seems to be a typical boxster problem, but I don't have all the signs and symptoms so I though I would poll for ideas/opinions. I have no Porsche experience other than 2-3 weeks.

Car: 2004 Porsche Boxster with 80K miles

Problem: No apparent engine noises, although there is a rough idle (+/- 20-30RPM) every once and awhile. All gears shift very well with the exception of 2nd and sometimes 1st gear. The problem is hit and miss sometimes, can't seem to reproduce it effectively - it seems to be harder to shift when accelerating, but still hard if I let the RPMs come back down. No grinding in gear or weird noises. Also, 2nd gear never comes out, but will come back about halfway (not sure if this is normal).

I have plans to replace transmission oil and the motor mount. Is this the right plan of action? Are their simple driving tests I can do to rule other things out - like bad synchro?

Thanks!
Kyle

kbiggar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 07:38 AM   #2

Try this. An instant before you are going to shift into second, with your foot off the clutch, apply a little pressure on the shifter. Hold the shifter lightly with three fingers and pull back slightly. Then, keeping the same pressure on the shifter, push the clutch in. It should shift smoothly into second.

2000 Boxster 2.7l red/black

Previous cars

1973 Opel Manta
1969(?) Fiat 850 Convertible
1979 Lancia Beta Coupe
1981 Alfa Romeo GTV 6
1985 Alfa Romeo Graduate
1985 Porsche 944
1989 Porsche 944
1981 Triumph TR7
1989 (?) Alfa Romeo Milano
1993 Saab 9000
san rensho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 08:14 AM   #3